SICSA Directorate

Professor Stuart Anderson


Stuart Anderson is a Professor of Dependable Systems at Edinburgh’s School of Informatics with a special interest in socio-technical systems. Professor Anderson is SICSA’s Director of SICSA.

Dr Tim Storer

Deputy Director & Director of Knowledge Exchange

Tim Storer is Senior Lecturer in Software Engineering at the School of Computing Science, University of Glasgow, where he leads the Systems Engineering Group and the Glasgow University Software Service (GUSS). Dr Storer is SICSA’s Deputy Director as well as our Director of Knowledge Exchange.

Dr Matthew Barr

Director of Education

Matt Barr is a Senior Lecturer at University of Glasgow where he leads the Education and Practice section with interests in EDI and game-based learning. Dr Barr is the Director of Education for SICSA and founder of the Ada Scotland Festival.

Dr Debbie Meharg

Deputy Director of Education

Debbie Meharg is an Associate Professor and Head of Applied Informatics within the School of Computing, Engineering and the Built Environment at Edinburgh Napier University. Dr Meharg was appointed as SICSA’s Deputy Director of Education in 2023.

Dr Andrei Petrovski

Director of SICSA Graduate Academy (SGA)

Andrei Petrovski is a Reader in Computational Systems at Robert Gordon University where his research expertise includes intelligent data analysis through computational modelling, optimisation and decision support. Dr Petrovski is the Director of SICSA’s Graduate Academy which offers training, support and funding to postgraduate research students.

Chrissy Sanachan

Executive Officer

Chrissy Sanachan is SICSA’s Executive Officer and manages operational and administrative functions on behalf of the SICSA Directorate and Committee.

Juliette Lang

Projects & Events Officer

Juliette Lang is the Projects & Events Officer, supporting and delivering events, activities and communication across the breadth of SICSA.

SICSA Research Committee

AI & Data Science

Dr Dimitra Gkatzia

Edinburgh Napier University

Theme lead – AI & Data Science

Dr Yashar Moshfeghi

University of Strathclyde

Theme lead – AI & Data Science

Cyber Security

Dr Karen Renaud

University of Strathclyde

Theme lead – Cyber Security

Dr Jacques Ophoff

Abertay University

Theme lead – Cyber Security

Human-Computer Interaction & Interactive Technology

Dr Michael Crabb

University of Dundee

Theme lead – HCI

Dr Mary Ellen Foster

University of Glasgow

Theme lead – HCI

Systems & Software Engineering

Dr Stephen McQuistin

University of St Andrews

Theme lead – Systems & Software Engineering

Professor Ashkan Sami

Edinburgh Napier University

Theme lead – Systems & Software Engineering

Theory, Modelling & Computation

Dr Lilia Georgieva

Heriot-Watt University

Theme lead – Theory Modelling & Computation

Dr Clemens Kupke

University of Strathclyde

Theme lead – Theory Modelling & Computation

Scottish Programming Languages Institute